I.M.H.O.

Of Lanterns And Lamps

Paper Lamps (Rectanglular)

Paper Lamps (Round)

I was in SoHo the other day, in one of its gray office buildings that tower over Calvin Klein boutiques and Prada showrooms. On another occasion perhaps, I’d have hopped on the subway, immediately after my work got over. Not that day, though.

That could be because of the fall chill in the air or because I was in a carefree mood, after I got out of a consequential meeting. In any event, I set off on an amble along Broadway.

A block or so later, I found myself at Pearl River Mart, a massive Chinese department store that was a pioneer in Sino-American trade. I stopped by to check out some of its paper lamps.

Leave a Reply

