I.M.H.O., Women

“To All The Girls I’ve Loved Before”

This is a short catalog of women who’ve set my heart aflutter since I was old enough to develop a crush, even though I didn’t call it that.

Julie Andrews. In “The Sound of Music,” she dared to climb over the high walls of the convent and love someone other than god, quite unlike the nuns who taught me at the Loreto Convent.

Michelle Obama. For her brain and her brawn.

Meryl Streep. In “The Devil Wears Prada,” she made me fall in love with the devil.

Aparna Sen. I’d like to take a walk along the beach on a moonlit night, with a woman like this.

Condoleezza Rice. I wish I were one of her “international affairs.”

Judi Dench. For being M., the boss of the world’s sexist male spy, James Bond; for calling him a “sexist, misogynist dinosaur, a relic of the Cold War.”

Sharmila Tagore. Her coquettish sex appeal can quite make me weak at the knees.

Helen Mirren. The sexiest 60-plus I’ve come across, so far.

Hillary Clinton. She exudes power. I felt it when I shook her hands.

Suchitra Sen. The quintessential coy, but steely Bengali beauty.

Leave a Reply

