Fresh Mushrooms, 3D Printed

A 3D-printed fresh mushroom snack.

“Edible Growth” is a project, which 3D prints food that’s literally, fresh off the (artificial) soil.

A 3D printer-like device ejects perforated structures, containing an edible core of agar that has a mixture of seeds, spores, and yeast. In a matter of a few days, the seeds will sprout into plants; the spores, into mushrooms; and the yeast, into dough.

The experiment tests the possibility of 3D printing healthy snacks on the kitchen countertop. I don’t think I’d go to such lengths to eat fresh. When I’m feeling peckish, I wouldn’t have the patience to wait and watch a broccoli grow before my eyes and only then put it in my mouth.

h/t: DEZEEN

Leave a Reply

